Skip to content

Meet our team

Connie Digolis


Connie Digolis is the CEO of the Mental Health Council of Tasmania (MHCT). Connie brings to her role a wealth of experience in population health and preventative health strategy, community sector management, advocacy, health promotion and policy. Connie is a leading voice advocating for mental health system reform, providing solutions to support the mental health and wellbeing needs of all Tasmanians.

Connie, in partnership with our Board, is responsible for ensuring that MHCT functions as an effective peak body for the community managed mental health sector in Tasmania. Together, the Board and CEO give direction and leadership towards the organisation’s relevance to the community and stakeholders; and the achievement of its vision, mission, strategic plan, annual goals and objectives.

Connie is a Deputy President of the Australian Council of Social Services (ACOSS) and the Tasmanian Council of Social Services (TasCOSS). Connie also represents the community managed mental health sector on a range of Advisory and Reference Groups working collectively to transform the Tasmanian mental health system to become a truly person-centred, integrated care model providing the best mental health outcomes for all Tasmanians.

Shareen Pearson

Corporate Services Manager

Shareen manages the financial and human resource functions of MHCT and provides support to the CEO, the Board and sub-committees including the review and updating of organisational policy and procedures and the management of all MHCT records and documents.


Sally Errey

Stakeholder Engagement Coordinator

Sally is responsible for the planning, development, and implementation of a Member and Stakeholder Engagement Strategy including the recruitment and retention of new members, and the identification of other strategic opportunities. Working closely with the CEO, Sally leads advocacy campaigns in line with the MHCT Strategic Plan, while building on government, member, and sector relations.

Bree Klerck

Sector Development Coordinator

Bree is responsible for the planning, development, and coordination of MHCT sector development functions and ensuring all relevant project milestones are met in line with reporting requirements. She is also responsible for monitoring, researching, and analysis of policy reform in the mental health sector at a state and national level. Bree represents MHCT on relevant committees and networks which inform and relate to MHCT projects.

Nick Sullivan

Media and Communications Officer

Nick is responsible for monitoring and maintaining the MHCT website and social media accounts, monitoring government and media activity relating to mental health, developing a range of communications including newsletters, infographics, surveys and marketing materials, and coordinating MHCT events.

Meet our Board

Jules Carroll


Jules Carroll is the Chief Operating Officer at Relationships Australia Tasmania. She has responsibility for a broad range of programs across the state, including mental health services, suicide prevention, Partners in Recovery, counselling and adult support services. Jules is Deputy Chair of the Tasmanian Suicide Prevention Network, and previously served on the Board of the Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs Council of Tasmania, and Service Tasmania. Jules had an extensive career in the State and Federal public services in the education field, with twelve years of experience at senior management level, prior to moving to the not-for-profit sector. Jules sits on our Governance Sub-Committee.

David Tilley

Deputy Chair

David is currently a Senior Investigator with the Department of Premier and Cabinet. He has a diverse career history, including as a Policy Analyst, Policy Officer, Police Officer and Business Support Officer for a government focused enterprise. David graduated from the University of Tasmania in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts and Laws. David has recently graduated from the College of Law with a Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice. David is also the MHCT representative to Community Mental Health Australia (CMHA).

James Versteegen


James is a qualified accountant with a career based mainly in the community not-for profit sector. He is currently the Corporate Services Manager with Lifeline Tasmania and brings experience and skills in Administration and Corporate functions, including WHS, Compliance and Governance to the MHCT Board. James is passionate about  mental health within the community and creating a world’s best practice mental health system in Tasmania.

Nicky Osborne

Board Member

Nicky is a social worker with nearly 20 years experience working with children, young people, families and carers in both direct therapeutic roles, and mental health service management. Nicky manages the state-wide child, youth and families Mental Health Services of Life Without Barriers -Synergy and iConnect.

Deb Fast

Board Member

Deb has worked in a variety of roles across the disability and mental health sectors for over 20 years. Deb is currently Baptcare’s Service Manager for Mental Health. She brings a wealth of experience and skills to the MHCT Board to ensure that better service systems and culture are a primary focus of mental health in Tasmania. Deb is passionate about working toward a future where Tasmania has best mental health system in Australia.

Paul Campbell

Board Member

Paul is a Psychologist in private practice in the NW of Tasmania. He brings a wealth of insight and experience having previously been a relationship counsellor, Adult Mental Health Team member as well as working on research in Scotland and Australia. He is currently undertaking his PhD from Western Sydney University.  Paul has a history of community based involvement and was previously an elected member to the Renmark Paringa Council, the Renmark Paringa Hospital Board, and Riverland Mental Health Advisory Council Member. He is currently the Tasmanian Representative for the Division of General Psychological Practice with the Australian Psychological Society and is also on the Marist Regional College Board. Paul has a strong commitment to mental health both in Tasmania and at a national level.

Naomi Walsh

Board Member

Naomi Walsh is an experienced non-executive director with a background in finance and business management. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Accountants Australia and Zealand with a Risk specialisation and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. As a lecturer for the University of Tasmania, she uses her knowledge and training in mental health to support students to achieve their goals.  Naomi has a passion for contributing to the equity and wellbeing of the Tasmanian community.